Supporting Multicurrency Gateways

Secure Payment Gateways

Most payment gateways integrated with Neto allow multicurrency transactions however we recommend contacting the bank to ensure this is possible and enabled on your account.

To accept foreign currency payments, you'll require a Multicurrency Merchant Service Facility from a bank to clear your funds. NAB is currently the only bank in Australia that will provide you with this facility at the moment. 

This service, called NAB Transact eCommerce only supports USD, GBP, JPY, HKD, NZD, EUR, CAD, CHF, SGD currencies.

If you choose not to go down this path then overseas customers must pay in AUD instead of their local currency.

The Alternatives

The alternative to this is to use providers that hold their own internal Multicurrency Merchant Service Facility such as Paypal. These alternative services will hold your payments in their account, allowing you to convert and withdraw payments in AUD.

At present, Paypal allows these conversions in the following currencies:

  • Canadian Dollar
  • Euro
  • British pound
  • US dollars
  • Japanese yen
  • Australian dollars
  • New Zealand dollar
  • Swiss franc
  • Hong Kong dollar
  • Singapore dollar
  • Swedish krona
  • Danish krone
  • Polish zloty
  • Norwegian krone
  • Hungarian forint
  • Czech koruna
  • Israeli new shekel
  • Mexican peso
  • Brazilian Real (only for members resident in Brazil)
  • Malaysian Ringgit (only for members resident in Malaysia)
  • Philippine peso
  • New Taiwan dollar
  • Thai baht
  • Turkish Lira (only for members resident in Turkey)
  • Russian rouble



Was this article useful?

Be notified when this page is updated. Optional.

Last Modified: 18/11/2016